Has your school decided to use Respondus Lockdown Browser to monitor your exams? If so, you may be trying to figure out how this software works and what kind of impact it may have on you.
Here is all that you need to know about how the Lockdown Browser works:
How Does the Respondus Lockdown Browser Function?
Respondus Lockdown Browser works by freezing the browser that you are taking any assessment on – this ensures that you have to remain on the window with your test until you decide to hand it in to be graded – only then will the function be removed.
What are the Features of the Respondus Lockdown Browser?
The main features of the Respondus Lockdown Browser are:
- You can only use the browser that Lockdown Browser has been sanctioned for.
- The window where your assessment is taking place can’t be minimized.
- Certain browser menus and toolbar options are restricted.
- You can’t access other applications on your computer.
- Certain touchpad and keyboard functions are restricted.
- You aren’t allowed to copy or paste anything to or from your assessment.
- You will not be able to capture the screen or print any information on it.
What Functions are Allowed on the Lockdown Browser?
As mentioned, you can’t use most of the functions on your browser menu and toolbar. These will all be disabled while the exam is in session.
You will be able to use the buttons to go back, forward, refresh the page, and stop the page when it is loading.
You should also be aware that there are limited functions that you can use with your keyboard and touchpad as well.
For instance, when it comes to your touchpad (or mouse), the right-click function is nearly completely disabled. This is so that you will not be able to use the copy/paste functions.
As for the keyboard, you will not be able to use shortcut keys or function keys. This is largely disabled so that you will not be able to switch between tasks or other windows using your keyboard.
Can You Access Any Other Applications on Your Laptop?
This will depend on your professor and the settings that they have disabled and enabled. In some exams, you may not need any additional materials.
In some instances, though, you may be required to use another application on your laptop. If this is the case, then the professor will allow you to use this particular application. All other applications on your desktop will be locked, though.
Due to this, you will not be able to use your computers alongside virtual machines or use remote desktops or screen sharing.
The same goes for any messaging applications that you have downloaded onto your computer. These will be locked down as well.
Is the Respondus Lockdown Browser Always On?
No, the Respondus Lockdown Browser is not always on. Before the exam starts, you will need to follow various steps in order to prepare your computer for the software.
It is only once you have gone through the stages that the Lockdown Browser functions will kick into place. These will remain in place until the assignment is handed in.
Once you have sent in your assignment, you can finally close the window and the rest of the features will be disabled.
Bear in mind that once your assessment has been sent in that you will not be able to access it again. This is regardless of how much or how little of the work that you have completed.
Due to this, you should only send in your exam when you are fully done with it.
Can the Respondus Lockdown Browser See You?
No, contrary to popular belief, Lockdown Browser can’t see you. In fact, the browser can’t even see your desktop.
The main function of this software is to disable various functions to discourage cheating on your exam.
What is the Difference Between Respondus Lockdown Browser and Respondus Monitor?
A lot of people get confused between Respondus Lockdown Browser and Respondus Monitor. Although they are two services from the same company, they are vastly different.
The Lockdown Browser is only meant to disable the functions on your computer. It cant monitor cheating beyond this.
Respondus Monitor, on the other hand, uses your webcam and microphone to monitor you while you are taking your test.
The software uses facial recognition to ensure that it is you who is taking the exam. The webcam also flags any movements or behaviors that may be connected to teaching.
These flagged sections are then sent to your professor to determine if they really are signs of cheating.
The microphone picks up ambient noise. If other voices or unusual noises are heard, these will be flagged and sent to your professor.
Some schools use Respondus Lockdown Browser and Monitor together. In this case, you have double the amount of anti-cheating features built into the system.
Can You Override Respondus Lockdown Browser?
No, you can’t override the Lockdown Browser function. This will be a condition of your exam taking.
If this is not installed and activated on your computer, then you will not be able to take your assessment.
How Does the Respondus Lockdown Browser Work?
The Respondus Lockdown Browser works by locking down most of the features of your browser and your computer – this ensures that you are locked into place into your assignment and unable to use other applications until you have finished the exam and turned the paper in.